Since our childhood we have been celebrating Rashtriya Hindi Diwas on 14th of September every year but now a days we celebrate Vishwa Hindi Diwas also on 10th of January. Let us know the difference between National Hindi Day and World Hindi Day as Why Hindi Diwas is celebrated, who started the celebration of Hindi Day and since when Rashtriya Hindi Diwas and Vishwa Hindi Diwas are being celebrated.

World Hindi Day was started by then Prime Minister Sri Manmohan Singh in 2006 to commemorate first anniversary of World Hindi Conference that took place in 1975 in Nagpur Maharashtra. It was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister of India, Smt Indira Gandhi. The chief guest of the first conference was Mauritius Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam. It was attended by 122 delegates from 30 countries.

National Hindi Diwas is observed on 14th September every year to commemorate the day the Constituent Assembly adopted Hindi as our Official Language. Our great writer Beohar Rajendra Simha along with Kaka Kalelkar, Maithilisharan Gupt, Hajariprasad Dvivedi, Seth Govinddas played an important role in making hindi our official language. To mark the cognizance of Beohar Rajendra Singh celebration of National Hindi Day started from 14th September 1949 which happens to be the birthday of Jabalpur born writer.

The basic aim of observing World Hindi day is to promote Hindi language worldwide. It is celebrated all over the world specially in school, colleges by organising cultural programs where people make Hindi Diwas posters, giving Hindi Day quotes and Hindi Day speeches. Our Prime Minister Sri Narendra Modi often address in Hindi on World Platform. Late Prime Minister Sri Atal Bihari Vajpayee also gave speech in United Nations in hindi.

Rajbhasha awards are conferred upon the ministries, departments, PSUs and Nationalised banks. Ministry of Home Affairs in its order dated 25 March 2015 changed the names of two awards ‘Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puruskaar’ to ‘Rajbhasha Kirti Puruskaar’ and ‘Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puruskaar’ to ‘Rajbhasha Gaurav Puruskar’ .